Three Hierarchs 2011 Update

Dear friends,

Furaha na amani!  Joy and peace!

And greetings once again from Mwanza, Tanzania.  For two weeks in January I was privileged to visit Kenya, a neighboring country where I was raised from age three until age eighteen.  It was a delight to visit with Mom & Dad in the Kerio Valley and taste some of our delicious Cheptebo mangoes.  I was also able to see old friends and faculty at Rift Valley Academy, where I was a boarding student 5th – 12th grade.  And it was a special joy to be in Nairobi at Archbishop Makarios III Seminary on the feast-day of St Makarios of Egypt, where the Liturgy was celebrated by Archbishop Makarios of Kenya.

But it’s also very, very good to be back home in Mwanza, in my new home!  I’ve been away since signing the lease, and so am just moving in this week.  In another post, I’d like to tell you a bit about what house-hunting can look like in urban East Africa.  In short, though– it was a long and sometimes frustrating process, that took more than three months.

But now I have a place to live!  In the three years since our Church moved headquarters from Bukoba to Mwanza, we have been searching for property on which to build a Cathedral and other Archdiocesan facilities.  We have only just concluded negotiations and outright purchased property… yes, after three years of searching.  My own housing search has helped me to understand and identify with the issues our Archdiocese faces as we develop an infrastructure in Mwanza.  And it has helped me to identify with urban Tanzanians, who face similar stresses as they deal with the pressures of big city life.

I am grateful for your continued prayers, encouragement and financial participation.  God is using you to care for me as I learn to see the world through Tanzanian eyes, and as I continue to study Kiswahili.  Thank you for the many ways that you support my work here in our Archdiocese of Mwanza.

By your prayers in Christ,

James Hargrave

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

